历史传承

东伦敦历史与 经济之核心地

女性运动先锋

伦敦女性参政论运动

布莱恩特和梅

伦敦湾区见证历史的火柴工厂

利河湾区浓厚的历史底蕴萦绕了几个世纪,古老的制瓷和琴酒工艺,传奇的火药工厂和纺织品印制,见证了贸易和工业的历史萌芽。

这里也是著名的女性先驱者的故乡,1888年火柴女郎罢工在布莱恩特和梅工厂发起,赫赫有名的女性参政论领导人西尔维亚·潘克斯特,20世纪初组建东伦敦选举会,女性选举权于此载入史册。

 威廉·莫里斯(William Morris),生活在利河沿岸的著名设计师、艺术家和诗人,他的艺术作品深受周边水系的影响,鲜活地描绘了利阿沿岸繁茂生长的花朵。

茛苕

莫里斯最知名的花纹设计

威廉·莫里斯

知名设计师、艺术家、诗人

从制造业启蒙 到商务文创新区

蜿蜒的水道和屹立的建筑是工业历史的实体见证,而波普勒运河又用热情的波西米亚风情将她带回当代前沿。

自20世纪以来,东伦敦的该地区吸纳了众多艺术家、设计师和工匠,独立咖啡馆、前卫酒吧、临时美术馆林立,馥郁的艺术氛围和史无前例的创造力,是高知人群的居住首选。Here East 等创新园区群聚媒体、科技、创意企业,吸引众多国际名企和初创机构,挺起东区创新脊梁。

2012 伦敦奥运会的成功举办,驱动奥体中心配套资源升级,11亿英镑打造伦敦东岸文创教育产业坐标,BBC 音乐、维多利亚博物馆、莎德勒威尔斯剧院等巨头入驻,伦敦大学学院、伦敦时装学院等高校云集,齐聚鸿儒雅士,定义文化生活主场。

Computer generated images courtesy of LLDC, Allies & Morrison and Ninety90.

Heritage

East London’s historical and industrial heartland.

Votes for Women

The Suffragette movement in London

Bryant & May’s

Match factory, Bow, London

Bow’s rich history encompasses centuries of invention and production; from its ancient porcelain and gin businesses to its gunpowder factory and silk and calico printing works, the area was a hive of industry and trade.

It was also home to some of history’s famous female pioneers, with the matchgirls’ strike at the Bryant & May factory in 1888 and Sylvia Pankhurst forming the East London Federation of the Suffragettes in the early 1900s.

Acclaimed designer, artist and poet William Morris lived near the River Lea and his works were greatly influenced by the surrounding waterways, including the Lea, which depicted the flowers growing wildly along the river.

Acanthus

One of Morris’ renowned designs

William Morris

Acclaimed designer, artist and poet

From a hive of manufacturing to a centre of culture and creativity.

Whilst the area’s waterways and traditional architecture tell of its bygone history of industry, Poplar’s canals are being brought back to life in the form of thriving, bohemian neighbourhoods.

Since the 20th Century, this part of East London has attracted artists, designers and artisans and this creative energy is alive now more than ever. Combining high art and innovation, nearby Hackney Wick is home to more artists than anywhere else in the world. Independent cafés, edgy bars and pop-up art galleries sit alongside exciting businesses and start-ups, with innovative media and technology complex Here East hosting a dynamic mix of companies and entrepreneurs.

The 2012 Olympic legacy has created a unique metropolitan neighbourhood and development is set to continue, with the £1.1 billion East Bank cultural and educational complex, providing a new home for BBC Music, the V&A and Sadler’s Wells, as well as top university campuses including UCL East and the London College of Fashion.

Computer generated images courtesy of LLDC, Allies & Morrison and Ninety90.